My Journey to Motherhood

July 25, 2008

Day 13

Filed under: Fertility Monitor — Serendipity @ 10:19 am

Today is day 13 of using my fertility monitor. It’s still showing as “low” so I’m not sure if I should be concerned yet. I would have hoped that I would have had a high day by now.

I tell you what really grates on my nerves, it’s the people that are lucky enough to have fallen pregnant and then try and patronise you with it. Just by saying things like “Oh it’ll be your turn soon” or “When WE were trying…….” And when you tell someone you miscarried and they say “Well you knew it was early” or “Well at least you know you can conceive.” Yes I knew it was early. Yes I know these things are common, but it doesn’t make it any easier to deal with. And yes, I do know I can conceive, but I don’t know that I can carry a baby to full term. I could conceive twenty times, but if I never have a baby, what’s the point?

A girl at work has just announced she is pregnant. I didn’t take the news very well. I cried. She doesn’t really strike me as the maternal type. I know it sounds harsh, but other people have said the same. A friend of mine congratulated her and asked her if she was excited. She said “Yeah I suppose, its old news for me now though.” I just felt angry when I heard that. She doesn’t realise how lucky she is. Old news or not, she should be over the moon.

I’m trying to keep myself busy and focus on other things. I am taking part in a City Challenge in September for charity. It’s a work thing. There are five of us in a team. Four of us have to do canoeing. Two of us have to abseil. Two of us have to take part in a curry eating challenge and the whole team has to do a treasure hunt. If I‘m pregnant by then (fingers crossed) then I won’t do the abseiling one.

We are also getting another puppy. We went to see the breeder last night and they were only ten days old, so we’ll have him when he’s eight weeks. He’s a little Cairn terrier and we are going to call him Ernie. We already have a chocolate Labrador who is 17 months old, so I think she’ll be chuffed to have a little friend to play with. Hopefully, I’ll be so consumed with looking after the new puppy that I won’t focus on a baby too much.

That’s all from me today I think.

1 Comment »

  1. Any luck since July 25?

    Comment by BDavis — October 15, 2008 @ 2:43 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

